Making wire wrapped rings

I’ve been futzin’ around learning how to make rings for a couple of months now. I’d just been trying to do them on my own…no instruction, which is how I do most of my jewelry…self-taught. Sometimes I read books, or look at online instructions, but usually I just do it…try to figure it out on my own. Well, I found a new source for instructional learning…YouTube! Call me a dinosaur…lol…my niece Megan sure had a good laugh at my expense when I told her.

I’ll apologize in advance for not writing down the link to share, but if you go to YouTube and input “wire wrapped rings” (or a similar wording) in the search bar, you’ll come up with all kinds of instructional videos for them.

These are copper wire rings with various stones for adornment. Please click on photo to enlarge for more visual detail.

I used poppy seed jasper and copper for theĀ  ring below, which was fairly simple to make. I just hammered 16 gauge wire (I want to try this with a 10 gauge…maybe 12 gauge wire, too) shaped on my ring mandrel, then wire wrapped stones added to the hammered blank. It didn’t take a lot of time…maybe an hour total. I’d also like to try this with the beads wired along the shape of the ring…centered.

16 gauge wire, hammered

Sized and shaped on ring mandrel

Finished...poppy seed jasper beads wire wrapped onto hammered blank

Finished, poppy seed jasper wire wrapped bead ring

Finished, poppy seed jasper wire wrapped bead ring

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This next ring is just the finished piece…no process pictures. It was simple…using a longish piece of 22 gauge wire (2 to 3 ft. maybe), I shaped/sized the ring (double wrap) on a ring mandrel, then just wrapped the bead onto it. This ring only took about 15 minutes, or so to make.

Wire wrapped copper and agate bead ring

Wire wrapped copper and agate bead ring

Wire wrapped copper and agate bead ring

Wire wrapped copper and agate bead ring

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one was fun to make, too. The 22 gauge wire was easy to work with when wrapping, but I’m not sure I like the double band. It has a nice weight and feel when worn.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

